Death and Taxes


The American inventor, Benjamin Franklin once said that in this world nothing can be said to be certain, except death and taxes.

I got a letter from the HMRC a few weeks ago. It was regarding the tax that I paid during my last year of university and my pre-reg. I genuinely did not understand whether I owed them money or vice versa. More about that later.

Its always sad to hear that one of your patients has passed away. Unfortunately, it is inevitable. Its a fact of life. You may have known the patient for years or just seen prescriptions for them recently.

It may be sudden and unexpected or the patient may be terminal and you are expecting it. Doctors and Nurses see a lot of death. I could not do what they do.

Unfortunately, you get a bin liner full of unused medication back too and you realise that you are not as good at MURs as you thought!

I got another letter from HMRC and a cheque. It turned out that they owed me money! Tax is inevitable but every once in a while, you get some good news. Although, I suspect that the HMRC will somehow find a way of making me pay more tax…

One thought on “Death and Taxes

  1. Yes, i do hate getting the dreaded bin liner. Death is inevitable theres no question about it, but i think sometimes overprescribing by doctors and hoarding by patients sometimes makes me angrier as oppose to the sadness i should feel when a patient dies, sad but true!

Leave a Reply

