Dress to impress


Pharmacists are professionals and should dress as such. I have only come across a couple of pharmacists that still wear white lab coats at work. The majority wear smart attire.

We are told that it is important for us to look professional so that the patient will be more likely to listen and accept our advice. However, I have seen two GPs who wear jeans in their surgery and the patients don’t seem to mind.  Whilst I was a student I saw one locum pharmacist wear jeans and another wear a skirt and flip flops.

Some companies make their pharmacist wear a uniform e.g.  Tesco.  Some hospitals have a no tie and long sleeve shirt policy or a uniform. This is to minimise infections.

I rarely wear a tie at work and the only people that seem to care are my parents. The quality of my clothes is directly proportional to the amount of food that I spill on me at lunch. Be it Armani or Primani, yoghurt stains on black trousers are hard to explain.

Tell me what you think about our dress code.

7 thoughts on “Dress to impress

  1. In hospital, we have the bare below the elbows rule. So I’m well used to freezing arms during the winter. We all have to dress professionally, but the bar has dropped noticeably over the past 10 years. Most men don’t wear ties (I’m the exception, but then I’m a fusspot), but smart shirt and trousers are still a must.

    One of our consultants went to war on bare midriffs and nightclub clothing in doctors not so long ago.

  2. I think wearing “business dress” is fine if the person prefers but I can’t see the problem with smart casual or even casual. My lovely GP wears a suit from time to time but she’s done her regular surgeries in jeans and a shirt too. She’s still a fantastic GP. The one thing I do hate about work wear is the truly awful, uncomfortable and unflattering uniforms some multiples force their support staff to endure. They are always made from the worst man-made materials, are usually unsuitable colours like white that turn grey after a week and the sizes are only comfortable if you are a UK size 8 or smaller!!!

  3. I like to see smart dress but on the other hand at work If you are comfortable and warm/cool surely that’s more important..I have seen doctors in casual wear and somehow I feel more relaxed with them than the ones that wear clinical clothing.

  4. I would like to see this from the viewpoint of a customer/patient. When I go in a new pharmacy, how the professionals present themselves will impact my first impression. It is of course not just about dress code, but a presentable image will somehow make them seem more reliable. First impression – you will never get a second chance to create it, so dress and look smart!

  5. I agree with the last comment. Dress code of smart attire is important, after all we are professionals.

    But how come GP’s who dress casual get away with it? And you don’t? Just because you never wore a tie…?

  6. I always hated our company’s uniform as a summer student, so was soo excited when as a prereg and pharmacist I could finally wear smart. But smart is sometimes not practical as pharmacies can often be dusty and mucky places and no matter what my job role is I still end up helping out looking for that missing script! My current choice is smart but never suit jackets. . and it works for me. Never jeans or flip flops though! That is too far and I’m sure breach of h+s too.

  7. I wear flowery dresses to work with even flowery head gear! My customers love it…esp one of my addicts…always compliment my matching skills and wants my wardrobe too!!!!

Leave a Reply

