Stand up for what you believe in


Something happened today in the pharmacy which annoyed me. Maybe I am old fashioned but I believe I have some values that some people don’t seem to possess.

Our bench in the shop has space for five people. There were six people sat on it today. From left to right, there was a 9 year old boy, his 30 something mum, a late 60s man with a walking stick, a 30 something couple and the man had his toddler on his knee.

Then a late 70s lady entered. Have a guess which person stood up and gave their seat up? Yes, it was the old man. The lady tried to protest but he was having none of it and made her sit down. He stood up with the aid of his stick.

None of the younger folk offered their seat or even battered an eyelid. The two elderly people did not say anything or complain. They were the nice old people and not the grumpy ones. I would have given my seat up because its the right thing to do.

5 thoughts on “Stand up for what you believe in

  1. I would have done the same as you, what’s wrong with young people nowadays, no offence to young ones and me!

    Our pharmacy just has one chair for waiters due to lack of space…majority of patients waiting are obviously left standing around

  2. I’m so glad the age of chivalry is not yet dead. If only more people thought like you. Its often the same on buses when I used to travel on them. But u can see that some parents have bought their kids up right and I’m at times pleasantly surprised. Its all down to the upbringing which is inevitably in my opinion a parents responsibility.because that’s what my parents taught me and I will teach my son too.

  3. It’s awful..! Can’t believe what’s happened to manners and respect for elders now a days
    I wish , someday , someone will knock some sense into these people
    Lets keep writing about this stuff so that such people know what is right and what’s wrong

  4. I have to agree with the posts above..so true! Manners should be taught to children!

    Glad to see, some of us are doing a great job!

Leave a Reply

