Just Say No


I really should learn to say no once in a while. It’s actually quicker and easier than a yes. I got asked to work on Saturday morning for four hours and said yes. I had not been to this pharmacy in a few years but remembered it to be a pleasant one.

I thought I knew how to get there so I did not use my Sat Nav. When it got to 8.55am and I was lost, I pulled over and turned on the Sat Nav. It was 7 minutes away. I arrived at 9.02am very embarrassed and apologised profusely.

I was greeted with scenes similar to this:

 

[Pictures by @impure3]

 

I sent a cheeky tweet detailing my findings before getting down to the task at hand. Twenty minutes later, the locum agency rang and said that there was a mix-up and that I had to go to another branch 20 miles away!

I looked at the baskets and weighed it up against the car journey and decided to move branches. I was told not to wait for my replacement. The lady from the locum agency told me that there was already someone at the next pharmacy waiting for me to get there so not to worry about getting there ASAP. So I stopped for a McDonalds breakfast! I jest!

The next pharmacy was 45 minutes away according to the Sat Nav. I started driving and decided to ring them to let them know how long it would take me. Whilst on the phone, I heard police sirens behind me rapidly approaching. Thankfully they had a more important matter to attend to and did not punish my stupidity.

The pharmacy was the scene of my ‘Locums deserve respect’ post https://mrdispenser.wordpress.com/2011/09/03/locums-deserve-respect/ Thankfully it was a lot nicer this time and less problematic. However, I wish I had said no and stayed in bed.

 

 

2 thoughts on “Just Say No

  1. You made the right choice to move branch…
    I hate it when I find a bench full of baskets from the day before. I ask myself what were they doing yesterday or the day before in some cases? Its common courtesy to clear the checking bench as much as possible for the locum the next day. I understand it can be busy but that is just atrocious! I always clear my bench at the end of each day even if its for myself the next day!

  2. I think it is very easy to say ‘i clear my bench before i leave’ when you work in a pharmacy with 2-3 dispensers and 200 items dispensed on a busiest day of the week – Friday. Unfortunately, some places are not as lucky as yours. Especially, when on the busiest day of the week, you are left alone with two dispensers and approximately 800 items to dispense, 20 addicts, millions of pcs to check, targets of 2 MURs, NMSa and unpacked, 15 trays of delivery because the driver was late. I could go on and on with this, but the main thing is…you don’t moan or complain, just get on with the work and smile. You can do what you can do.you would love to get some help, another pair of hands but you won’t.
    And the mess on those pictures is not as bad as you would find in some pharmacies, and this is the place where you get your experience. If you can cope and handle pharmacy like this, any other place will be ‘a piece of cake’.

Leave a Reply

